TotalComfort® Cool Mist Ultrasonic Humidifier

39.99

Model: UHE-CM18

Availability: In stock

Ships in 1-2 business days ?

$39.99

Whether the air conditioner is running or the furnace is on, it seems like the air in your home is always dry. Add some moisture to the air you breathe with the TotalComfort® Cool Mist Ultrasonic Humidifier. With up to 25 hours of runtime, an auto-off timer (so you can set it and forget it), and 2 mist output settings, you’ll be breathing easy again in no time.
The TotalComfort™ Humidifier is whisper-quiet for nighttime use, and the nightlight features 7 colors, so you can light up your room however you want. Clean Tank Technology helps protect the tank from mold and mildew, and a demineralization cartridge helps prevent white buildup on your walls from hard water. You can even add your favorite essential oils to the essential oil tray for an even more-relaxing experience.

Advanced Features

Clean Tank Technology and whisper-quiet operation

Mildew and mold never make for a great smelling experience with humidifiers. Clean Tank Technology helps protect the tank from mold and mildew so you can breathe easier. The whisper-quiet motor makes it optimal for nighttime use.

“Favorite

Customization and mood lighting

Set the mood and give a little light at night with the nightlight feature that cycles through 7 different colors. Give your humidifier a little pep with the added essential oil pads. Add a couple of drops of your favorite scent and slide the pad back into the tray and insert it back into the humidifier.

“Sounds”

Auto shut off and easy to fill

Filling up the TotalComfort™ Cool Mist Humidifier is done in a few easy steps. Remove the tank from the base and turn the tank upside down. Remove the cap and fill with clean, cool water. Replace the tank cap and flip over to place back on the base. No worrying about wasted electricity or burning up internal motors. The TotalComfort™ Cool Mist Humidifier features an auto shut-off feature for when the tank is empty.

“time”

Key Features

  • Visible, micro-fine cool mist
  • Easy to remove and fill 5.0 gallon / 2.0 L tank
  • Up to 25 hours runtime
  • 7-color nightlight with on/off
  • 12-hour auto-off timer
  • 360 degree mist nozzle
  • 2 mist output settings
  • Auto shut-off protection when the tank is empty
  • Essential oil tray with 3 pads
  • Whisper-quiet operation for nighttime use
  • Clean Tank Technology helps protect the tank from mold and mildew
  • Includes 1 demineralization cartridge
Customer Reviews
TotalComfort® Cool Mist Ultrasonic Humidifier is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 28.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing I have been using mine for a little over a month and am very disappointed. The humidifier runs fine but its not producing any humidity. This defeats the purpose for buying it in the first place especially since it is primarily a humidifier.
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk I purchased two within the week. They seemed great the first days. I did as instructed and emptied the tank and refilled with distilled water, I cleaned the membrane with a cotton swab and 50/50 water/vinegar mix. Since that first fill up, they both have been sporadic at producing mist, and currently I only have one producing enough mist to come out the top. I redid all the cleaning steps, I pumped the spring a 20 times like they recommended to another reviewer and the thing turns on and makes mist in the base, but will not come out the top as it should. Nothing is blocking it. I am frustrated that it isn’t working, and I wish I had purchased a different brand. im thoroughly disappointed.
Date published: 2019-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use I've had this humdifier for 1 weeks and have used it daily. I read the manual and it made it very easy to operate. The fill port is at the bottom of the tank and when the red light comes on, clean with a swab dipped in 50/50 water/vinegar solution. Then hold red button for count of 3 and light will go out. I find that it works great and quiet enough during the night.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It doesn’t produce humidity I used it one night. The whole night I ran it in the highest humidity setting. My sinuses were a tiny bit better. The next morning I noticed the water was still full. Maybe a tiny bit lower. It’s on & seems to be working, but it obviously isn’t producing humidity. Did I do something wrong?
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from idk what to do I am struggling so hard and I don’t know how to take off the tank cap and fill it
Date published: 2019-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love mine I got this a little over a month ago, disappointed to see it’s only rated 3 stars. It’s tank is small and lasts about 9 or 10 hours but I just use it each night for sleep. We lov eours because it helps keep our room cooler at night instead of the hot mist one we use to own. I bought it while I was really sick and it helped keep my throat from getting really dry at night. Also love the night light and how it lets you know when it needs to be cleaned. Very happy with this purchase!!
Date published: 2019-02-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from mold & mildew in less than 1 month I bought two of these humidifiers and in less than 3 weeks there is mold in each of them. I thought the "clean tank technology helps to protect the tank from mold & mildew"
Date published: 2019-01-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Frustrated I purchased yesterday, filled up the water tank and plugged in with no problem. The machine sounds like it is working and the nightlight is clearly on, but no mist comes from the top of the unit. I left it plugged in and removed the tank from the base, there was definitely mist! It just wasn't making it out to the top of the unit to do its job. Debating return and purchasing a whole different humidifier
Date published: 2019-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product!! This is a great product that is worth the money! I live in a hard water area so needs to be cleaned a little more often but overall I love this and it really helps me sleep!
Date published: 2019-01-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Effective except for red light I bought one of these a month ago and only used distilled H2O because of extremely hard well water. The red cleaning light came on nonetheless. I followed all instructions (50-50 water, vinegar) and cleaned it. Red light still wouldn’t go off, so I replaced it with a brand new unit. Less than a week later (and just one refill) it has happened again. Very frustrating to have the red light on in perpetuity and no way to figure it out online without some FixYa outfit trying to grab HoMedics business.
Date published: 2019-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Little Humidifier I am really happy with this little guy! Easy to fill and operate. I like the night light feature and auto shut off when the tank is empty. It's perfect for a small bedroom. The aroma therapy tray/pad great as well. I put a few drops of lavender oil on I me of the pads and it filed my room with a relaxing fragrance. The instruction manual is very easy to understand. I deducted one star because after 4 days of use the "Clean Me" light is already and I don't have particularly hard water. Overall I am very pleased and would recommend this product.
Date published: 2019-01-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nightlight broken Nightlight button does not work on humidifier no light for babies room
Date published: 2019-01-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Miss Debbie I purchased this exact humidifier today. When I got it home and read the pamphlet, wanted to be sure the top came off before I put the filter in water for 10 minutes. It said turn counter clockwise. I tried for a while, at least 30 minutes. Then, I thought maybe the top lid should come off by turning the other way. Finally I called 1-800-466-3342. They were closed. Hours 8:30 am until 5:00 pm Monday thru Friday. You would think this company had better hours. So I figured I would attempt to exchange it. I brought it back to the store and picked up another one to see if I could do an even exchange, and the store agreed. There were two other people including a manager whom once I saw him pop the cover off in frustration and that broke to no surprise. Really, and this was a male. No one could figure out including me why the lid does not screw off as it states by turning it counter clockwise . As it stated afterwards the lid goes on by turning footpaths right. So no I waisted my afternoon, and gas. Very glad I walked away. Very unfortunate. As two of this same product, and 3 people after reading instructions should have been able to get the top lid undone. I am having to input that I used this product. I never could, I tried two of the same product and has same problem with the lid. Or top that us suppose to screw off, and then turn right to tighten.
Date published: 2018-12-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Won’t stay on I bought this humidifier less than a day ago and am already regretting it. It won’t stay on longer than an hour regaurdless of the timer. Also the cleaning indicator light is already on despite using distilled water and not even going through an entire tank. Thoroughly unhappy.
Date published: 2018-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not silent, but quiet enough This product has roughly a 1 gallon tank, not the 5 gallon tank HoMedics states on there website. Despite there false advertising, the features on this product still were enough for us to purchase. It works as advertised, provides a nice mist that does not get area wet around or underneath the humidifier. The feature I most like is the timer. Set it and forget it with the auto shut off. One word of advice, if you have hard water, you will see the red light indicating clean the filter come on frequently and you will have to reset roughly every three days. Not hard to do, and it does not affect the machines performance, just a pain to do.
Date published: 2018-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size & isn’t an eyesore I bought this a month ago and I’m loving it. If you’re confused- READ THE MANUAL! It’s extremely straightforward. It isn’t awful to look at and it’s really easy to refill. I would definitely recommend this!
Date published: 2018-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! I have been struggling with severe dry eyes. I have slept with it on for two nights now and I feel so much better! It is so quiet and perfect for night time use. I highly recommend this item!
Date published: 2018-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Piece of garbage Worked one night, now won’t even turn on. Save your money and time and buy a different product.
Date published: 2018-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had help with my sinus headaches. I love homedic I love it because if the steam. It has helped with putting moisture back in the air in my bedroom
Date published: 2018-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs all night super quiet!!! I bought it 2 weeks ago after getting a sinus infection.... has truly helped
Date published: 2018-11-18
  • y_2019, m_7, d_17, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_UHE-CM18, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedics
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 135.12ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Q & A

what does it mean when the button indicating it’s on glow red instead of blue?

Asked by: rere
When the water tank is almost empty, the humidifying function will power off and the power/out of water LED will illuminate red, indicating it is time to refill the tank.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-05-10

How much are the demineralization cartridges? Do you Need to have the cartridge to use the humidifier?

Asked by: Eugenia
The demineralization cartridges are sold at HoMedics.com in a package of 4. It is recommended to use the cartridges.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-05-08

Can u send me a pdf if the manual? Lost mine and can’t figure out how to put in the filter capsule.

Asked by: Barbw
The demineralization cartridge is placed inside the water tank. Also, a PDF manual can be downloaded at HoMedics.com at the bottom of the page under the "SUPPPORT" heading.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-04-29

How can I clean the pink stuff that is in the outtake of the humidifier

Asked by: Me Lane
TO CLEAN THE TANK Remove the water tank from the humidifier base by lifting it from the main unit. Unscrew the tank cap and rinse inside the tank with clean water. To remove any scale or build up, use a 50/50 mixture of white vinegar and lukewarm water to clean the inside of the tank. TO CLEAN THE ULTRASONIC MEMBRANE Empty, rinse and dry the ultrasonic membrane and the reservoir before refilling. Pour a 50/50 mixture of white vinegar and water on the surface of the ultrasonic membrane and in the reservoir, then soak for five minutes. Brush clean with a soft-bristle brush and rinse. TO CLEAN THE SURFACE Clean the surface of the unit with a clean damp soft cloth as often as needed.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-04-26

What does it mean when the light all the way the the right is on? It hasn’t come on since I’ve had it, about a week, until now.

Asked by: Daniellerae
The light all the way to the right is the "CLEAN TRANSDUCER/ULTRASONIC MEMBRANE" indicator. CLEAN will illuminate red after 60 hours of use, indicating it is time to clean the transducer/ultrasonic membrane. Clean the transducer/ultrasonic membrane with a 50/50 mix of white vinegar and water on a cotton swab. Wipe off with a damp cotton swab. Press and hold the clean button for 3 seconds until the clean light turns off. NEVER touch the transducer/ultrasonic membrane with your fingers; the natural oils in the skin can damage the surface.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-04-17

My nightlight button and the button furthest to the right are not working. Tried resetting a couple of times and nothing... the power button and timer buttons functions.

Asked by: Rich H
We are sorry to hear this. Please contact Consumer Relations at 1-800-466-3342 Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. EST for assistance.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-04-16

My red light is on on the far right side, and the nightlight won’t work. What’s this mean and how do I fix it?

Asked by: ErinA
We are sorry to hear this. Please contact Consumer Relations at 1-800-466-3342 Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. EST for assistance.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-04-12

What does the small red light mean on display panel?

Asked by: Iaguilera2
CLEAN will illuminate red after 60 hours of use, indicating it is time to clean the transducer/ultrasonic membrane. The transducer/ultrasonic membrane must be cleaned to remove water mineral deposits when the red LED above the clean transducer/ultrasonic membrane button is illuminated. Failure to do so may cause reduced or no mist output. Clean the transducer/ultrasonic membrane with a 50/50 mix of white vinegar and water on a cotton swab. Wipe off with a damp cotton swab. Press and hold the clean button for 3 seconds until the clean light turns off.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-04-12

Can you turn the nightlight off?

Asked by: Lizbhc
Yes. Press the nightlight button to turn the nightlight on. The nightlight will continuously scroll through the 7 colors. Press the nightlight button to stop scrolling and park on your favorite color. Press the nightlight button again to turn the nightlight off. The next time you turn the nightlight on, it will resume scrolling from the parked color.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-04-10

Can anyone explain why the 4th red light comes on is there something I need to do when it comes on

Asked by: Dawn m
CLEAN will illuminate red after 60 hours of use, indicating it is time to clean the transducer/ultrasonic membrane. The transducer/ultrasonic membrane must be cleaned to remove water mineral deposits when the red LED above the clean transducer/ultrasonic membrane button is illuminated. Failure to do so may cause reduced or no mist output. Clean the transducer/ultrasonic membrane with a 50/50 mix of white vinegar and water on a cotton swab. Wipe off with a damp cotton swab. Press and hold the clean button for 3 seconds until the clean light turns off.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-04-10

Just bought this unit yesterday and the mist was working last night but not working today when i woke up ?

Asked by: Michelle30
We are sorry to hear this. Please contact Consumer Relations at 1-800-466-3342 Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. EST for assistance.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-04-10

On the box it says " for small rooms". How many feet does homesick consider a small room. One websit I looked on to buy it said under 100 sq ft. and another website said 250-400 sq. Ft.

Asked by: Tamm
This humidifier works well in an average size bedroom, office or small family room.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-04-05

So, what am I missing? I turned the tank over to fill and water came out of the top. I tried putting the "tank" on the unit and pouring water in the top where the moist air comes out, and water flowed out round the rim. No are directions in the box.

Asked by: cp757
Remove the tank from the humidifier base. Turn the tank upside down and remove the tank cap.Fill the water tank with clean, cool (not cold) water. We recommend using distilled water if you live in a hard water area. Replace the tank cap by turning to the right until tight. Flip over, and place the tank back on the humidifier base, making sure it is firmly seated. An instruction book can be downloaded at HoMedics.com under the "SUPPORT" heading at the bottom of the home page. . Please contact Consumer Relations at 1-800-466-3342 Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. EST if you need further assistance.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-04-02

Machine will turn on & air comes out the top but there is no mist. I have tried taking the tank off and pressing the spring in the cap multiple times and putting it back together, this will work for about 10-30 seconds before the mist stops. Suggestions?

Asked by: DaisyM
We are sorry to hear this. Please contact Consumer Relations at 1-800-466-3342 Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. EST for assistance.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-03-29

After a couple of months working fine humidifier decided not to turn on. Tried every step of the manual to solve the problem but no light will light on. Do you have any advide/recommendations about this issue?

Asked by: Fernando
We are sorry to hear this. Please contact Consumer Relations at 1-800-466-3342 Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. EST for assistance.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-03-28

My red light is on and it won't work. What do I do to fix it. I just bought it and maybe used it for 2 weeks of that.

Asked by: Jordan 32
We are sorry to hear this. Please contact Consumer Relations at 1-800-466-3342 Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. EST for assistance.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-03-22

I just bought theTotal Comfort Humidifier and I’m not sure how to fill it. And the instructions show that we fill the Top part. But how? The goes right through. Please help!!! Also, instructions says to turn Right to lock in place, but mine doesn’t lock!

Asked by: TiaMari
Remove the tank from the humidifier base. Turn the tank upside down and remove the tank cap.Fill the water tank with clean, cool (not cold) water. We recommend using distilled water if you live in a hard water area. Replace the tank cap by turning to the right until tight. Flip over, and place the tank back on the humidifier base, making sure it is firmly seated.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-03-21

why dose it gurgle at night and it s t is supposedv  the water be sittng  in the base  of of it or  did i get humdifer  can you llet  me know  pleases

Asked by: Lori Lee
There will be water in the reservoir in the base of the unit. The water moves from the removable tank into the base then though the unit.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-03-18

How do I get the cleaning light to turn off? 

Asked by: Kelsey123
Press and hold the clean button for 3 seconds until the clean light turns off.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-02-28

What demineralization cartridge do I use with this model? The cartridges I find all say they are for a 1 gallon tank and this model is only 1/2 gallon?

Asked by: SamC
The model number of the demineralization cartridge is UHE-HDC4. The cartridge is the same for a 1 gallon tank and a 1/2 gallon tank.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-02-27

It keeps shutting off after only a couple of hours even though I have it set to 12.

Asked by: Tonya
We are sorry to hear this. Please contact Consumer Relations at 1-800-466-3342 Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. EST for assistance.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-02-27

I just purchased one and the tray for essential oil wont open. Is that a safety feature? I was able to fill and insert the pad with oil. But now it wont open.

Asked by: Phillip 67
Push to open and remove the tray. If the tray will not open please return the humidifier to the place of purchase or contact Consumer Relations at 1-800-466-3342 Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. EST for assistance.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-02-13

Can we add vapo steam into the essential oil tray?

Asked by: Angie123
It is not recommended to add vapo steam to the essential oil tray.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-02-08

How does the oil pad disperse the oil? I have an infant and want to make sure it is safe to use that feature. Is it diffused? 

Asked by: Eecas
The oil is placed on the aroma pad and the aroma pad is then placed inside the oil tray. The scent will start automatically when the mist is turned on. When it comes to children, it changes according to age. Once they are 12, you can use the same oils/dilutions as you would for an adult. Oils MUST be diluted with children.Keep oils out of reach of babies. Err on the side of caution.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-02-07

Why won’t the mist come out half the time? I bought it today and it worked for maybe 3 hours before I had to refill the tank now it won’t do anything but make noise

Asked by: Kiserh1
Remove the water tank from the base and turn the tank upside down. Press and release the spring loaded valve in the center of the tank cap (it looks like a button) about 15 - 20 times. Reseat the tank onto the base of the humidifier. If this does not resolve the issue, please return the humidifier to the place of purchase for a replacement.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-01-28

I have had this a week, and though I don't really intend to use the nightlight on a regular basis, I could not get it to work.

Asked by: rd456
Press the nightlight button to turn the nightlight on. The nightlight will continuously scroll through the 7 colors. Press the nightlight button to stop scrolling and park on your favorite color. Press the nightlight button again to turn the nightlight off. The next time you turn the nightlight on, it will resume scrolling from the parked color.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-02-11

How often do you clean the membrane of the total comfort humidifier? How do I clean it? I lost my manual :( 

Asked by: Cl_1768
A red LED will illuminate above the clean icon, indicating it is time to clean the transducer/ultrasonic membrane. CLEAN will illuminate red after 60 hours of use, indicating it is time to clean the transducer/ultrasonic membrane. TO CLEAN THE TANK Remove the water tank from the humidifier base by lifting it from the main unit. Unscrew the tank cap and rinse inside the tank with clean water. To remove any scale or build up, use a 50/50 mixture of white vinegar and lukewarm water to clean the inside of the tank. TO CLEAN THE ULTRASONIC MEMBRANE Empty, rinse and dry the ultrasonic membrane and the reservoir before refilling. Pour a 50/50 mixture of white vinegar and water on the surface of the ultrasonic membrane and in the reservoir, then soak for five minutes. Brush clean with a soft-bristle brush and rinse. Press and hold the clean button for 3 seconds until the clean light turns off. TO CLEAN THE SURFACE Clean the surface of the unit with a clean damp soft cloth as often as needed.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-02-22

Where exactly is the transducer located on the Homedics Total Comfort Ultrasonic Humidifier. The manual does not pinpoint this device.

Asked by: Foxylady
The transducer is located in the base of the humidifier. Look for the small dark colored ring that is inset in the water reservoir. The cream colored center of the ring is the transducer.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-02-28

How long does the Carthage last?

Asked by: Catfish
The cartridge should be change every 30 - 40 fillings of the tank.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-01-30

How do you fill it with water. I’m pouring water through hole and it is coming out through mister at the top of unit

Asked by: Jody89
Remove the tank from the humidifier base. Turn the tank upside down and remove the tank cap. Fill the water tank with clean, cool (not cold) water. Replace the tank cap by turning to the right until tight. Flip over, and place the tank back on the humidifier base, making sure it is firmly seated.
Answered by: Consumer Relations
Date published: 2019-02-02
  • y_2019, m_7, d_17, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_UHE-CM18, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedics
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 131.12ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Support

Online Support Information